typing is not activism….

environ mentalism, fresh articles, interviews & checkitouts from Sydney.

Prius drivers will kill the planet, but at least they look concerned.

with 3 comments

So check this out – I’ve just gone for a long run. I’m walking it off. It’s the middle of the night and the street is empty. Then I see this Prius nearby, with its distinctive toy-car-for-grownups shape, and its lights come on as it readies to pull away from the kerb.

Focusing on this car, there’s some kind of endorphin-hit coming on from the run because I almost feel like clapping the dude driving it. Yeah, I know – twee. So the car has turned around, and it’s heading up the street. It slows slightly and there’s the sound of a door opening, then there’s a hollow plasticky rattling sound, the driver’s door closes again, and he speeds off into the night…

… having  first thrown his empty bottle of springwater out of the car onto the road. The road, of course, leads to the drain, which leads to the ocean, which leads to an island of plastic refuse and garbage with a surface area greater than that of Australia.

So what’s the thought process?

“Hmmm, I spent $36 000 so that I would produce half as much carbon dioxide as other drivers. Fuck it, I’m going to live a little.” *dump*

or maybe

“Oh no – a plastic bottle! I am an elven upper-middle class planet-saver, and I must get this petrochemical-based filth away from me right away!!” *chuck* 

Written by typingisnotactivism

December 2, 2007 at 2:24 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I guess we do hope Prius owners (although he may be some idiot kid driving his mom’s car?) will do better than average folks, I’ve seen too much bad behavior from people in Prii (Priuses?) to think too much of that one factor. 😛

    Leena

    December 3, 2007 at 11:57 am

  2. Ha!

    typingisnotactivism

    December 3, 2007 at 11:12 pm

  3. Thought process? what?

    Tex

    December 11, 2007 at 4:08 am


Leave a Reply

