typing is not activism….

environ mentalism, fresh articles, interviews & checkitouts from Sydney.

Juicy behind the scenes rumours from US election

with 5 comments

Sorry for the sleazy title, but if you’ve got such a problem with it, how did you end up here?

Turns out that Newsweak (NOT a typo) has been running a little project via its journalists, gathering anything not-fit-for-print or off-the-record pre-election to release post-election.

Genii.

Although it’s quite hilarious to read that Sarah Palin couldn’t grasp that Africa is a “continent” rather than a “country”, the eye-catching bit of awesomeness is a comment from Obama, in which he (rightly) derides the debate stage show.

When he was preparing for the Democratic primary debates, Obama was recorded saying, “I don’t consider this to be a good format for me, which makes me more cautious. I often find myself trapped by the questions and thinking to myself, ‘You know, this is a stupid question, but let me … answer it.’ So when Brian Williams is asking me about what’s a personal thing that you’ve done [that’s green], and I say, you know, ‘Well, I planted a bunch of trees.’ And he says, ‘I’m talking about personal.’ What I’m thinking in my head is, ‘Well, the truth is, Brian, we can’t solve global warming because I f—ing changed light bulbs in my house. It’s because of something collective’.

Apart from it being reassuring to know that Obama uses the F word, how on-the-money is that assessment of feelgood new age greenness. Lovin’ it. Gobama!

Written by typingisnotactivism

November 6, 2008 at 7:52 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great quote. But I want video!

    Leena

    November 7, 2008 at 1:13 am

  2. Haha! Miranda Devine was all “Oooh NOOOoooo he smoked POT!!! And inhaled” (well DUH, not much good if you DON’T inhale), and now he’s dropping the f-bomb – I’m totally smitten!

    fuckpoliteness

    November 7, 2008 at 12:54 pm

  3. Yes!! Moronda Devile Must Die!!!! hey, fuckpoliteness, don’t you have blog for linkage? (could google but…meh)

    typingisnotactivism

    November 7, 2008 at 3:46 pm

  4. Um…yes. You have me in your blogroll. 🙂 Under fuckpoliteness, cos I’m stealth like that.

    fuckpoliteness

    November 10, 2008 at 1:19 pm

  5. Though I’m not sure why it won’t make my name a link in comments.

    fuckpoliteness

    November 10, 2008 at 1:21 pm


Leave a Reply

